Abbey United Reformed Church, Romsey


Tuesday, 30 June 2015 10:40

Over 90s Tea

It was a great pleasure to receive the Over Nineties on 28 June. The party was organised by the Pastoral Groups and “VIP” guests and their companions enjoyed the afternoon tea: homemade tasty sandwiches and various cakes were shared for this social event.

Angela Bevan offered the prayer of thanksgiving.

Everybody had a great time and it was nice to see the Over Nineties smiling and sharing their memories. Is that the secret of reaching over the age of 90?

May we thank everybody who helped us make this event as successful as in previous years and we are looking forward to the next event in 2016.
Jeannine & Roy Macartney

Notices

  • ACTIVITIES THIS WEEK

    Mon 26 Sept:

    11.30 am  Funeral Service of Derek Burns

    All invited to the White Horse after the service.

    Tues 27 Sept:

    9.30 am Prayer Meeting in Abbey Hall Lounge

    Wed 28 Sept:

    2.30 pm Churches Together Harvest Hymns at Durban House

    Thurs 29 Sept:

    6.00 pm Mass in St Joseph’s Parish Centre,

    6.00 – 7.00 pm followed by

    7.00 pm The Battle of the Somme film, Romsey Town Hall  film tickets available from Romsey Town Hall.

    Fri 30 Sept:

    10.00 am Mass at Abbey House

    10.00 am – 4.00 pm WW1 Exhibition in the church

    7.30 pm  Badminton in Abbey Hall

    Sat 1 Oct:

    8.00 am – 10.00 am Churches Together in Romsey Prayer Breakfast – Romsey Methodist Church

    9.00 am – 12.00 noon Working Party

    10.00 am – 12.00 noon WW1 Exhibition in the church

    6.00 pm Mass in Abbey Hall

    NEXT SUNDAY –2 October

    10.30 am Family Worship & Holy Communion in the church, led by Revd Alan Green

    Forthcoming Events 

    Tues 4 Oct:

    12.15 pm St Joseph’s Parish Lunch at The Luzborough – all welcome.  Please reserve your lunch with Rosemary Peacock or Angela Bevan after the services

    Thu 6 Oct

    2.30 – 4 pm Ladies Tea & Chat in Abbey Hall Lounge

    Fri 7 Oct: 

    2.30 pm Churches Together Harvest Hymns at Edwina Mountbatten House

    Sat 8 Oct: 

    6.45 pm Just Living - an evening with Ruth Valerio, environmentalist

    Sat 5 Nov:

    2.30 pm induction of Revd Mike Perrott to the pastorates of Braishfield & Romsey United Reformed 

    DATES TO KEEP FREE

    Sat 12 Nov

    10 – 12 noon Church Sale for church funds organised by Gwen Sloan. Donations please to Gwen for stocking the stalls – gifts, home baking, books, tombola prizes and Christmas goodies (please no bric-a-brac)

    Sun 20 Nov

    Welcome Service at Braishfield for Mike and Marie Perrott, followed by refreshments.

Latest Articles

Login Form

If you would like a Login to allow you to add articles yourself please contact Carole Cox.